M100 Sanssouci Colloquium

Strengthening democracy, media and journalists through cross-border cooperation

Independent media and fact-based, trustworthy reporting are a great European asset, a pillar of democracy. Functioning journalism is essential to counter polarisation and authoritarianism, to preserve and strengthen democracy.

Every September, the international media conference M100 Sanssouci Colloquium in Potsdam brings together around 100 representatives of traditional, established and young, independent, democratic media from all over Europe and beyond to discuss together with representatives from politics and science current socio-political developments and tendencies and the role and influence of the media in international affairs.

Founded in 2005 by a group of leading personalities from the worlds of media and politics, the aim of the Forum is to explore new, constructive forms of cooperation and to strengthen democracy, freedom of opinion and freedom of the press in Germany, Europe and the world. As a bridge builder between East and West, the M100 Sanssouci Colloquium promotes media relations and uncovers differences, but also similarities in the challenges facing the media in different cultures and regions.

The M100 Media Award, presented in the framework of the conference, recognises individuals who have made outstanding contributions to protecting freedom of expression and deepening democracy.

The M100 Young European Journalists Workshop, which takes place in the run-up to the Colloquium, promotes intercultural exchange between young journalists from all over Europe. The focus is on conveying practical and theoretical knowledge of journalistic work, as well as an understanding of democracy, openness and tolerance.

The annual M100 conference is an integral part of Potsdam’s identity as a media city. The conference also serves as an ambassador for a city steeped in history, where the Great Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg issued the “Potsdam Edict of Tolerance” as far back as 1685. With the Potsdam Agreement in1945, the reorganisation of the post war world was negotiated here. Since 2008, the city has been underlining its commitment to cosmopolitanism and tolerance with the New Potsdam Tolerance Edict.

The M100 Sanssouci Colloquium traditionally takes place in the historic buildings of the UNESCO World Heritage Palaces and Parks in Potsdam, such as the Orangery of the Orangery Palace Sanssouci or the Palace Theatre of the New Palace.

M100 Sanssouci Colloquium

Stärkung von Demokratie, Medien und Journalisten durch grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit

Unabhängige Medien und eine faktenbasierte, vertrauenswürdige Berichterstattung sind ein hohes, europäisches Gut, eine Säule der Demokratie. Ein funktionierender Journalismus ist unerlässlich, um Polarisierung und Autoritarismus entgegenzuwirken, um Demokratie zu bewahren und zu stärken.

Jedes Jahr im September bringt die internationale Medienkonferenz M100 Sanssouci Colloquium in Potsdam rund 100 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter traditioneller, etablierter und junger, unabhängiger, demokratischer Medien aus ganz Europa und darüber hinaus zusammen, um gemeinsam mit VertreterInnen aus Politik und Wissenschaft über aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Entwicklungen und Strömungen und die Rolle und den Einfluss der Medien in internationalen Angelegenheiten zu diskutieren.

Ziel des 2005 von einer Gruppe führender Persönlichkeiten aus Medien und Politik gegründeten Forums ist es, neue, konstruktive Wege der Zusammenarbeit auszuloten sowie Demokratie, Meinungs- und Pressefreiheit in Deutschland, Europa und der Welt zu stärken. Als moderner Ost-West Brückenbauer fördert das M100 Sanssouci Colloquium Medienbeziehungen und deckt Unterschiede, aber auch Gemeinsamkeiten in den Aufgaben der Medien verschiedener Kulturen und Regionen auf.

Der im Rahmen der Konferenz verliehene M100 Media Award zeichnet Persönlichkeiten aus, die sich um den Schutz der freien Meinungsäußerung und die Vertiefung der Demokratie verdient gemacht haben.

Mit dem im Vorfeld des Colloquiums stattfindenden M100 Young European Journalists Workshop fördert M100 den interkulturellen Austausch zwischen jungen Journalistinnen und Journalisten aus ganz Europa. Dabei stehen sowohl die Vermittlung von praktischem und theoretischem Wissen journalistischer Arbeit, als auch von Demokratieverständnis, Offenheit und Toleranz im Mittelpunkt.

Durch die jährliche Konferenz ist M100 sowohl ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Medienstadt Potsdam, als auch ein starker Botschafter der geschichtsträchtigen Stadt, in der bereits 1685 der Große Kurfürst Friedrich Wilhelm von Brandenburg das „Potsdamer Toleranzedikt“ erlassen hat. 1945 wurde hier mit dem Potsdamer Abkommen die Neuordnung der Welt verhandelt. Mit dem Neuen Potsdamer Toleranzedikt unterstreicht die Stadt seit 2008 ihr Bekenntnis zu Weltoffenheit und Toleranz.

Das M100 Sanssouci Colloquium findet traditionell in den historischen Gebäuden des UNESCO-Welterbes Schlösser und Parks in Potsdam statt, wie zum Beispiel der Orangerie des Orangerieschlosses Sanssouci oder dem Schlosstheater des Neuen Palais.