Martin Fornůsek

News Content Editor
Newsmatics
Czech Republic

Martin Fornůsek is a Prague-based journalist, editor, and political commentator. He specializes in disinformation, hybrid warfare and human rights in Eastern Europe, with a particular focus on Russia and Ukraine.

Martin is an alumnus of Masaryk University in Brno, Czechia, where he graduated with the Bachelor’s Degree in Security Studies and History, and with the Master’s Degree in Conflict and Democracy Studies. As part of Erasmus+ Programme, he spent one semester at Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas, Lithuania.

After completing an internship at Bratislava-based STRATPOL – Strategic Policy Institute, he cooperated with the think-tank as a researcher and took part in the Digital Infospace Security Initiative. He also worked as a research assistant during his internship at the Institute of International Relations in Prague and volunteered in the media department of the Czech NGO People in Need.

Currently, Martin works as a news editor and political commentator at the US media company Newsmatics. He is a regular contributor at the Ukrainian independent media Euromaidan Press and his work has also been published by Ukrainian Crisis Media Center, StopFake.org, Kyiv Post, and more.

Martin speaks Czech, English, Russian and studies German and Ukrainian.

@fornusek_martin

Martin Fornůsek

Nachrichtenredakteur
Newsmatics
Tschechische Republik

Martin Fornůsek ist ein in Prag lebender Journalist, Redakteur und politischer Kommentator. Er ist spezialisiert auf Desinformation, hybride Kriegsführung und Menschenrechte in Osteuropa, mit einem mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Russland und der Ukraine.

Martin ist Absolvent der Masaryk-Universität in Brünn, Tschechien, wo er seinen Abschluss mit dem Bachelor-Abschluss in Sicherheitsstudien und Geschichte sowie mit dem Master-Abschluss in Konflikt- und Demokratiestudien abschloss. Im Rahmen des Programms Erasmus+ verbrachte er ein Semester an der Vytautas Magnus Universität in Kaunas, Litauen.

Nach einem Praktikum bei STRATPOL – Strategic Policy Institute in Bratislava arbeitete er mit dem Think-Tank als Forscher zusammen und nahm an der Digital Infospace Security Initiative teil. Außerdem arbeitete er während seines Praktikums am Institut für internationale Beziehungen in Prag als Forschungsassistent und war als Freiwilliger in der Medienabteilung der tschechischen NRO Menschen in Not tätig.

Derzeit arbeitet Martin als Nachrichtenredakteur und politischer Kommentator bei dem US-Medienunternehmen Newsmatics. Er schreibt regelmäßig für das unabhängige ukrainische Medium Euromaidan Press und seine Arbeiten wurden auch vom Ukrainian Crisis Media Center, StopFake.org, Kyiv Post und anderen veröffentlicht.

Martin spricht Tschechisch, Englisch und Russisch und studiert Deutsch und Ukrainisch.