Staffan I. Lindberg

Professor of political science and Director
V-Dem Institute at the University of Gothenburg
Sweden

Online

Staffan I. Lindberg is Professor of political science and Director of the V-Dem Institute at the University of Gothenburg, founding Principal Investigator of Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem), founding Director of the national research infrastructure DEMSCORE, and Wallenberg Academy Fellow.

He was co-PI for the research consortium “African Power and Politics” 2007-2009, his dissertation won the American Political Science Association’s Juan Linz Prize for Best Dissertation in 2005, and with V-Dem he was awarded the “Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Data Set Award 2016” by the American Political Science Association.

Lindberg is author of “Democracy and Elections in Africa” (JHUP 2006), co-author of “Varieties of Democracy” (CUP 2020) as well as other books, and over 60 articles on issues such as democracy, elections, democratization, autocratization, accountability, clientelism, sequence analysis methods, women’s representation, and voting behavior. Lindberg is currently leading several large research projects, including “Failing and Successful Sequences of Democratization”, “Varieties of Autocratization”, and “The Case for Democracy”, and also has extensive experience as consultant on development and democracy, and as advisor to international organizations, ministries, and state authorities.

@StaffanILindber

Staffan I. Lindberg

Professor für Politikwissenschaft und Direktor
V-Dem-Institut an der Universität Göteborg
Schweden

Online

Staffan I. Lindberg ist Professor für Politikwissenschaft und Direktor des V-Dem-Instituts an der Universität Göteborg, Gründungsdirektor von Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem), der nationalen Forschungsinfrastruktur DEMSCORE sowie Wallenberg Academy Fellow.

Er war Co-PI des Forschungskonsortiums „African Power and Politics“ 2007-2009. Seine Dissertation wurde 2005 mit dem Juan-Linz-Preis der American Political Science Association für die beste Dissertation ausgezeichnet. Mit V-Dem erhielt er den „Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Data Set Award 2016“ der American Political Science Association.

Lindberg ist Autor von „Democracy and Elections in Africa“ (JHUP 2006), Co-Autor von „Varieties of Democracy“ (CUP 2020) sowie weiterer Bücher und über 60 Artikel zu Themen wie Demokratie, Wahlen, Demokratisierung, Autokratisierung, Rechenschaftspflicht, Klientelismus, Methoden der Sequenzanalyse, Frauenvertretung und Wahlverhalten. Lindberg leitet derzeit mehrere große Forschungsprojekte, darunter „Failing and Successful Sequences of Democratization“, „Varieties of Autocratization“ und „The Case for Democracy“. Darüber hinaus verfügt er über umfangreiche Erfahrungen als Berater in den Bereichen Entwicklung und Demokratie sowie als Berater für internationale Organisationen, Ministerien und staatliche Behörden.

@StaffanILindber