Mark Leonard

Co-Founder and Director
European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR)
UK

Online

 

Mark Leonard is co-founder and director of the European Council on Foreign Relations, the first pan-European think tank.
He writes a syndicated column on global affairs for Reuters.com and is Chairman of the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on Geoeconomics.

Previously he worked as director of foreign policy at the Centre for European Reform and as director of the Foreign Policy Centre, a think tank he founded at the age of 24 under the patronage of former British Prime Minister Tony Blair. In the 1990s Mark worked for the think tank Demos where his Britain™ report was credited with launching Cool Britannia. Mark has spent time in Washington, D.C. as a Transatlantic Fellow at the German Marshall Fund of the United States, and in Beijing as a visiting scholar at the Chinese Academy for Social Sciences.

Honoured as a “Young Global Leader” of the World Economic Forum, he spends a lot of time helping governments, companies, and international organisations make sense of the big geo-political trends of the twenty-first century. He is a regular speaker and prolific writer and commentator on global issues, the future of Europe, China’s internal politics, and the practice of diplomacy and business in a networked world. His essays have appeared in publications such as Foreign Affairs, The Financial Times, The New York Times, Le Monde, Süddeutsche Zeitung, El Pais, Gazeta Wyborcza, Foreign Policy, the New Statesman, The Daily Telegraph, The Economist, Time, and Newsweek.

As well as writing and commenting frequently in the media on global affairs, Mark is author of two best-selling books. His first book, Why Europe will run the 21st Century, was published in 2005 and translated into 19 languages. Mark’s second book, What does China think? was published in 2008 and translated into 15 languages. He has published an edited volume on Connectivity Wars and is working on a future book on the same topic.

@markhleonard

Mark Leonard

Mark Leonard ist Mitbegründer und Direktor des European Council on Foreign Relations ECFR, der ersten gesamteuropäischen Denkfabrik.
Er schreibt eine regelmäßig erscheinende Kolumne über globale Angelegenheiten für Reuters.com und ist Vorsitzender des Global Agenda Council on Geoeconomics des Weltwirtschaftsforums.

Zuvor arbeitete er als Direktor für Außenpolitik am Centre for European Reform und als Direktor des Foreign Policy Centre, einer Denkfabrik, die er im Alter von 24 Jahren unter der Schirmherrschaft des ehemaligen britischen Premierministers Tony Blair gründete. In den 1990er Jahren arbeitete Mark für die Denkfabrik Demos, wo sein Britain™-Bericht als Auslöser für Cool Britannia gilt. Mark verbrachte Zeit in Washington, D.C. als Transatlantic Fellow des German Marshall Fund of the United States und in Peking als Gastwissenschaftler an der Chinesischen Akademie für Sozialwissenschaften.

Er wurde vom Weltwirtschaftsforum als „Young Global Leader“ ausgezeichnet und verbringt viel Zeit damit, Regierungen, Unternehmen und internationalen Organisationen dabei zu helfen, die großen geopolitischen Trends des einundzwanzigsten Jahrhunderts zu verstehen. Jahrhunderts zu verstehen. Er ist ein regelmäßiger Redner und produktiver Autor und Kommentator zu globalen Themen, der Zukunft Europas, der chinesischen Innenpolitik und der Praxis von Diplomatie und Wirtschaft in einer vernetzten Welt. Seine Essays sind in Publikationen wie Foreign Affairs, The Financial Times, The New York Times, Le Monde, Süddeutsche Zeitung, El Pais, Gazeta Wyborcza, Foreign Policy, The New Statesman, The Daily Telegraph, The Economist, Time und Newsweek erschienen.

Mark schreibt und kommentiert nicht nur häufig in den Medien über globale Angelegenheiten, sondern ist auch Autor von zwei Bestsellern. Sein erstes Buch, Why Europe will run the 21st Century, wurde 2005 veröffentlicht und in 19 Sprachen übersetzt. Marks zweites Buch „What does China think?“ wurde 2008 veröffentlicht und in 15 Sprachen übersetzt. Er hat einen Sammelband über Konnektivitätskriege veröffentlicht und arbeitet an einem zukünftigen Buch zum selben Thema.

@markhleonard