Jean-Paul Marthoz

Europe Advisory Committee
Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ, New York)
Belgium

Online

Jean-Paul Marthoz (Belgium) is a foreign affairs columnist at the Brussels daily Le Soir and teaches international journalism/media and terrorism at the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCLouvain, Belgium).

A vice-chair of the Advisory Committee of Human Rights Watch’s Europe and Central Asia division, he also sits on the editorial board of Index on Censorship magazine (London), on the Advisory Board of the Ethical Journalism Network (EJN, London) and on the Scientific Committee of the Bastogne War Museum.

He has been foreign editor and editorial page director of Le Soir (1980-1991), chief editor of the business magazine Trends/tendances (1992-93) director of the Media for democracy Program at the International Federation of Journalists (1994-96), European press director of Human Rights Watch (1996-2006), editorial director of the foreign affairs quarterly Enjeux internationaux (2003-2008), and EU correspondent of the Committee to Protect Journalists (2010-2017).

He is the author or coauthor of some 20 books on journalism, human rights and international relations. His latest, En première ligne. Le journalisme au coeur des conflits (October 2018), is a reflection on war and journalism. He is also the author of a number of manuals on international reporting: Couvrir les Migrations (2012), Terrorism and the Media. A Handbook for Journalists (UNESCO, 2017), and Journalisme International (2018, 3rd ed.). In 2021 he has contributed essays on the media in two books on (counter-) terrorism): Le nouvel âge des extrêmes (Presses universitaires de Montréal) and the Liber Amicorum in honor of the departing EU counter-terrorism coordinator Gilles de Kerchove (EU Council).

He has written reports, carried out missions and taken part in training programmes for a number of international organizations (The Committee to Protect Journalists, the International Federation of Journalists, the European Federation of Journalists, UNESCO, the Council of Europe, the European Union, the Naumann Foundation, the Norwegian Peacebuilding Resource Centre, the Hirondelle Foundation, the Thomson Reuters Foundation, International Media Support, etc.)

@jpmarthoz

Jean-Paul Marthoz

Europe Advisory Committee
Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ, New York)
Belgien

Analog

Jean-Paul Marthoz (Belgien) ist außenpolitischer Kolumnist bei der brüsseler Tageszeitung Le Soir und lehrt über internationalen Journalismus/Medien und Terrorismus an der Katholischen Universität Löwen (UCLouvain, Belgien).

Er ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Beirats der Europa- und Zentralasien-Abteilung von Human Rights Watch und sitzt außerdem im Redaktionsbeirat der Zeitschrift Index on Censorship (London), im Beirat des Ethical Journalism Network (EJN, London) und im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Bastogne War Museum.

Er war Auslandsredakteur und Redaktionsleiter von Le Soir (1980-1991), Chefredakteur des Wirtschaftsmagazins Trends/tendances (1992-93), Direktor des Media for democracy Program der International Federation of Journalists (1994-96), europäischer Pressedirektor von Human Rights Watch (1996-2006), Redaktionsleiter der vierteljährlich erscheinenden Zeitschrift Enjeux internationaux (2003-2008) und EU-Korrespondent des Committee to Protect Journalists (2010-2017).

Er ist Autor oder Koautor von rund 20 Büchern über Journalismus, Menschenrechte und internationale Beziehungen. Sein neuestes Buch, En première ligne. Le journalisme au coeur des conflits (Oktober 2018), ist eine Reflexion über Krieg und Journalismus. Er ist außerdem Autor einer Reihe von Handbüchern zur internationalen Berichterstattung: Couvrir les Migrations (2012), Terrorism and the Media. A Handbook for Journalists (UNESCO, 2017), und Journalisme International (2018, 3. Aufl.). Im Jahr 2021 hat er Medienaufsätze in zwei Büchern über (Anti-)Terrorismus verfasst: Le nouvel âge des extrêmes (Presses universitaires de Montréal) und das Liber Amicorum zu Ehren des scheidenden EU-Koordinators für Terrorismusbekämpfung Gilles de Kerchove (EU-Rat).

Er hat Berichte verfasst, Missionen durchgeführt und an Schulungsprogrammen für eine Reihe internationaler Organisationen teilgenommen (Komitee zum Schutz von Journalisten, Internationale Journalistenföderation, Europäische Journalistenföderation, UNESCO, Europarat, Europäische Union, Naumann-Stiftung, Norwegisches Ressourcenzentrum für Friedenskonsolidierung, Hirondelle-Stiftung, Thomson Reuters Foundation, International Media Support usw.).