Dr Claudia Major

Head of the International Security Division
Institute for International and Security Affairs in Berlin (SWP)
Germany

Analogue

Dr Claudia Major is head of the International Security Division at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs in Berlin (SWP).

Her research, advisory work and publications focus on security and defense policy in Europe and in a transatlantic context (NATO, EU, Germany, UK, France). Recent publications deal with Germany’s security and defense policy, NATO’s strategic adaptation and future development, European defense, strategic autonomy, and Franco-German relations in defense.

Previously, Claudia held positions at the Center for Security Studies at ETH Zurich, the German Council on Foreign Relations (Berlin), the EU Institute for Security Studies (Paris), the German Foreign Office (NATO desk) and Sciences Po Paris.

Claudia is member in various boards, such as the Advisory Board for Civilian Crisis Prevention at the Federal Foreign Office and the German-British Koenigswinter Conference. She holds a diploma from Sciences Po Paris and the Free University Berlin and a PhD from the University of Birmingham (UK).

@ClaudMajor

Dr. Claudia Major

Leiterin der Abteilung Internationale Sicherheit
Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP)
Deutschland

Analog

Dr. Claudia Major ist Leiterin der Abteilung Internationale Sicherheit bei der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) in Berlin.

Ihre Forschungs-, Beratungs- und Publikationstätigkeit konzentriert sich auf die Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik in Europa und im transatlantischen Kontext (NATO, EU, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Frankreich). Ihre jüngsten Veröffentlichungen befassen sich mit der deutschen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik, der strategischen Anpassung und zukünftigen Entwicklung der NATO, der europäischen Verteidigung, der strategischen Autonomie und den deutsch-französischen Beziehungen im Verteidigungsbereich.

Zuvor war sie am Zentrum für Sicherheitsstudien der ETH Zürich, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik (Berlin), dem EU-Institut für Sicherheitsstudien (Paris), dem Auswärtigen Amt (NATO-Referat) und Sciences Po Paris tätig.

Claudia ist Mitglied in verschiedenen Gremien, wie dem Beirat für Zivile Krisenprävention des Auswärtigen Amtes und der Deutsch-Britischen Königswinter-Konferenz. Sie hat ein Diplom von Sciences Po Paris und der Freien Universität Berlin und einen Doktortitel von der Universität Birmingham (UK).

@ClaudMajor