Caro Kriel

CEO
Thomson Foundation
United Kingdom

Analogue

Caro Kriel is CEO of the Thomson Foundation – a London/Berlin based international media development organisation that trains journalists around the world and works with news organisations on solutions to survive and thrive in the digital world.

Caro joined the foundation in June 2021 from CNN where she was Director of Coverage, EMEA. She was previously head of international news at Sky News and held leadership positions at Associated Press (AP), as Europe news director based in London, and as news director for Russia, based in Moscow. She also headed AP’s international video division for six years. She has led award-winning teams covering major international news stories including conflicts, natural disasters and terror attacks on every continent for more than 20 years. She has also managed large-scale transformation programmes to adapt content for digital audiences, restructuring projects, increases in multi-skilling, and workflow management changes.

Caro holds a BA and Honours degrees in Journalism from Stellenbosch University in her native South Africa and is a Fellow of the Punch Sulzberger Program at the Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University, New York. She lives in London.

@carokriel

Caro Kriel

CEO
Thomson Foundation
Großbritannien

Analog

Caro Kriel ist CEO der Thomson Foundation, einer internationalen Medienentwicklungsorganisation mit Sitz in London/Berlin, die Journalisten auf der ganzen Welt schult und mit Nachrichtenorganisationen an Lösungen arbeitet, um in der digitalen Welt zu überleben und erfolgreich zu sein.

Bevor sie 2012 zur Thomson Foundation kam, war Caro Kriel als Director of Coverage, EMEA, bei CNN tätig. Zuvor war sie Leiterin der internationalen Nachrichten bei Sky News und hatte Führungspositionen bei Associated Press (AP) inne, u.a. als Nachrichtenleiterin für Europa mit Sitz in London und als Nachrichtenleiterin für Russland mit Sitz in Moskau. Außerdem leitete sie sechs Jahre lang die internationale Videoabteilung von AP. Sie hat mehr als 20 Jahre lang preisgekrönte Teams geleitet, die über wichtige internationale Nachrichten wie Konflikte, Naturkatastrophen und Terroranschläge auf allen Kontinenten berichteten. Darüber hinaus hat sie groß angelegte Transformationsprogramme zur Anpassung von Inhalten an digitale Zielgruppen, Umstrukturierungsprojekte, die Zunahme von Mehrfachqualifikationen und Änderungen im Workflow-Management geleitet.

Caro hat einen BA- und einen Honours-Abschluss in Journalismus von der Universität Stellenbosch in ihrem Heimatland Südafrika und ist Stipendiatin des Punch Sulzberger Program an der Graduate School of Journalism der Columbia University in New York. Sie lebt in London.

@carokriel