Anna Saraste

Freelance broadcast journalist
DW | Yle
Finland/Germany
M100 Alumna

Twitter | LinkedIn

Anna Saraste is a Berlin-based freelance journalist who works as a reporter and producer for DW TV News at the German public broadcaster Deutsche Welle. She is also the Berlin stringer for the Finnish public broadcasting company Yle, reporting from Germany and Central Europe for a Finnish audience.

Anna has taken part in various cross-border research projects on topics related to disinformation, rural areas and migration. For her research she has received research grants from the Robert Bosch Foundation (2018), Journalismfund.eu (2019), the Finnish Cultural Foundation (2020), the Finnish foundation for journalism – Journalistisen kulttuurin edistämissäätiö (2020), and the Finnish foreign ministry (2018 & 2015).

Anna also has ample volunteering experience from different journalistic organisations. From 2012-2014, she joined and then headed the Middle East & North Africa Committee of the European Youth Press; then served as an executive board member from 2014-2016 and later from 2017-2019 as an advisory board member. In 2016, she co-founded together with young journalists from Norway, Denmark, Sweden and Finland the Nordic Press Association, which organizes the Nordic Youth Media Days on a yearly basis. Since 2017 she is also a contributor of the Finnish volunteer-based online portal The Ulkopolitist which publishes foreign policy analyses. From 2019-2021 she was the senior editor for European affairs at The Ulkopolitist.

Anna is the author of the non-fiction book “Pitkät jäähyväiset – reportaasi fossiili-Euroopan syrjäseuduilta” focusing on rural areas producing fossil fuels across Europe, which will be published in autumn 2021 by Vastapaino in Finnish language.

Anna Saraste

Freiberufliche Rundfunkjournalistin
DW | Yle
Finnland/Deutschland
M100 Alumna

Twitter | LinkedIn

Anna Saraste ist freie Journalistin in Berlin und arbeitet als Reporterin und Produzentin für DW TV News bei der Deutschen Welle. Außerdem ist sie die Berliner Korrespondentin des finnischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunks Yle und berichtet aus Deutschland und Mitteleuropa für ein finnisches Publikum.

Anna hat an verschiedenen grenzüberschreitenden Forschungsprojekten zu den Themen Desinformation, ländliche Gebiete und Migration teilgenommen. Für ihre Forschung erhielt sie Forschungsstipendien von der Robert Bosch Stiftung (2018), Journalismfund.eu (2019), der Finnischen Kulturstiftung (2020), der Finnischen Stiftung für Journalismus – Journalistisen kulttuurin edistämissäätiö (2020) und dem finnischen Außenministerium (2018 & 2015).

Anna verfügt außerdem über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Freiwilligenarbeit bei verschiedenen journalistischen Organisationen. Von 2012 bis 2014 war sie Mitglied und dann Leiterin des Komitees für den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika der European Youth Press; danach war sie von 2014 bis 2016 Vorstandsmitglied und später von 2017 bis 2019 Beiratsmitglied. 2016 gründete sie zusammen mit jungen Journalisten aus Norwegen, Dänemark, Schweden und Finnland die Nordic Press Association, die jährlich die Nordic Youth Media Days organisiert. Seit 2017 ist sie auch Mitarbeiterin des finnischen Online-Portals The Ulkopolitist, das auf freiwilliger Basis außenpolitische Analysen veröffentlicht. Von 2019 bis 2021 war sie leitende Redakteurin für europäische Angelegenheiten bei The Ulkopolitist.

Anna ist Autorin des Sachbuchs „Pitkät jäähyväiset – reportaasi fossiili-Euroopan syrjäseuduilta“, das sich mit ländlichen Gebieten in ganz Europa befasst, die fossile Brennstoffe produzieren, und das im Herbst 2021 bei Vastapaino in finnischer Sprache erscheint.