Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble

President of the German Bundestag
Germany

Wolfgang Schäuble was born in Freiburg on 18 September 1942. He is Protestant, married and has four children. He studied law and economics at the universities of Freiburg and Hamburg and was awarded the degree of Dr. jur. in 1971.

Dr Schäuble has been a member of the German Bundestag since 1972 and served as the Parliamentary Secretary of the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group from 1981 to 1984. He then held the offices of Federal Minister for Special Tasks and Head of the Federal Chancellery before serving as Federal Minister of the Interior from 1989 to 1991. Dr Schäuble has been a member of the CDU National Executive Committee since 1989. He headed the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group in the German Bundestag from 1991 until 2000; from 1998 until 2000 he was also national chairman of the CDU. He has been a member of the CDU Presidium since then. He was the Deputy Chairman of the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group in the German Bundestag for Foreign, Security and European Policy from 2002 to 2005, following which he again served as Federal Minister of the Interior. He was Federal Minister of Finance from 2009 to 2017. On 24 October 2017 Wolfgang Schäuble was elected President of the German Bundestag.

Wolfgang Schäuble has written a number of books: Der Vertrag. Wie ich über die deutsche Einheit verhandelte (The treaty: How I conducted the negotiations on German unification, 1991); Und der Zukunft zugewandt (Looking to the future, 1994); Und sie bewegt sich doch (And yet it moves, 1998); Mitten im Leben (In the prime of life, 2000); Scheitert der Westen? Deutschland, Die neue Weltordnung (Is the West failing? Germany and the new world order, 2003), Zukunft mit Maß. Was wir aus der Krise lernen können (Future of moderation: What we can learn from the crisis, 2009), and Anders gemeinsam. Ein deutsch-französisches Gespräch über Flüchtlinge, Griechenland, Europa, den Euro und die schwarze Null (Different together: a German-French conversation on refugees, Greece, Europe, the Euro and the balanced budget, 2016, with Michel Sapin).

Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble

Präsidenten des Deutschen Bundestages
Deutschland

Wolfgang Schäuble wurde am 18. September 1942 in Freiburg geboren. Er ist evangelisch, verheiratet und hat vier Kinder. Schäuble studierte Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an den Universitäten Freiburg und Hamburg und promovierte 1971 zum Dr. jur.

Seit 1972 ist Schäuble Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages, von 1981 bis 1984 als Parlamentarischer Geschäftsführer der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion. Anschließend war er Bundesminister für besondere Aufgaben und Chef des Bundeskanzleramtes, bevor er von 1989 bis 1991 Bundesminister des Innern wurde. Seit 1989 ist Schäuble Mitglied im Bundesvorstand der CDU. Von 1991 bis 2000 war er Vorsitzender der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion, ab 1998 zudem Bundesvorsitzender der CDU. Seither ist er Mitglied im Präsidium der CDU Deutschlands. Ab 2002 war Schäuble Stellvertretender Vorsitzender der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion für Außen-, Sicherheits- und Europapolitik. Von 2005 bis 2009 war er erneut Bundesminister des Inneren. Von 2009 bis 2017 war er Bundesminister der Finanzen. Am 24. Oktober 2017 wurde Schäuble zum Präsidenten des Deutschen Bundestages gewählt.

Wolfgang Schäuble hat mehrere Bücher geschrieben: Der Vertrag. Wie ich über die deutsche Einheit verhandelte (1991), Und der Zukunft zugewandt (1994), Und sie bewegt sich doch (1998), Mitten im Leben (2000), Scheitert der Westen? Deutschland und die neue Weltordnung (2003) und Zukunft mit Maß. Was wir aus der Krise lernen können (2009), Anders gemeinsam. Ein deutsch-französisches Gespräch über Flüchtlinge, Griechenland, Europa, den Euro und die schwarze Null (2016, mit Michel Sapin).