Angelos Athanasopoulos

Diplomatic, Defense & EU Affairs Editor
To Vima

Angelos Athanasopoulos has been working in newspaper “To Vima”, one of the most influential newspapers in Greece, since 1997. Initially writing about international affairs, he later worked as deputy editor-in-chief in the international news department of the daily edition (2006 – 2007), before becoming a diplomatic editor in November 2007 and also defence editor in July 2009.

Since the outbreak of the Greek economic crisis in 2009, he is also responsible for covering EU affairs. In 2011, he has been awarded the “Eleni Vlachou” prize for distinguished journalism from the Greek Parliament and the German Embassy in Athens for reporting on European affairs. Recently, since December 2017, he is regularly writing for “Ta Nea”, the daily newspaper of “Alter Ego Media Group”.

His issues of interest cover a wide range, including transatlantic relations, NATO, the EU, Russia, the Balkans and the Greek – Turkish conflict. He is a regular columnist for the online edition of To Vima and for In.gr, writing on international / diplomatic affairs but also on domestic issues.

He has published academic articles on the Balkans (Kosovo and Bosnia). In 2006, he was German Marshall Fund (GMF) Journalism Fellow in a trip to the Balkans. He has also been a European Marshall Memorial Fellow (MMF) for GMF in 2008, travelling in the United States for a month and covering the presidential elections.

He has conducted research for the Institute of Strategic and Development Studies (ISTAME) – Andreas Papandreou on international and European affairs. He has worked as an informal associate for Eurasia Group on Greek affairs, a political risk research and consulting firm and as a security and media affairs advisor for Mrs. Maria – Eleni Koppa, member of the European Parliament for PaSoK. He is currently offering consulting services to foreign embassies in Athens and foreign firms active in Greece.

@AAthanasopoulos

Athanasopoulos, Angelos

Diplomatic, Defense & EU Affairs Editor,
To Vima,
Griechenland

Angelos Athanasopoulos arbeitet seit 1997 bei „To Vima“, einer der einflussreichsten Zeitungen Griechenlands. Zunächst schrieb er über internationale Angelegenheiten, später arbeitete er als stellvertretender Chefredakteur in der internationalen Nachrichtenabteilung der Tageszeitung (2006 – 2007), bevor er im November 2007 diplomatischer Redakteur und im Juli 2009 auch Verteidigungsredakteur wurde.

Seit Ausbruch der griechischen Wirtschaftskrise im Jahr 2009 ist er auch für EU-Angelegenheiten zuständig. Im Jahr 2011 erhielt er den „Eleni Vlachou“-Preis des griechischen Parlaments und der deutschen Botschaft in Athen für seine Berichterstattung über europäische Angelegenheiten. Seit Dezember 2017 schreibt er regelmäßig für „Ta Nea“, die Tageszeitung der „Alter Ego Media Group“.

Seine Interessensgebiete sind vielfältig, darunter die transatlantischen Beziehungen, die NATO, die EU, Russland, der Balkan und der griechisch-türkische Konflikt. Er ist regelmäßiger Kolumnist für die Online-Ausgabe von To Vima und In.gr und schreibt über internationale / diplomatische Angelegenheiten, aber auch über nationale Themen.

Er hat wissenschaftliche Artikel über den Balkan (Kosovo und Bosnien) veröffentlicht. Im Jahr 2006 war er German Marshall Fund (GMF) Journalism Fellow bei einer Reise auf den Balkan. Außerdem war er 2008 European Marshall Memorial Fellow (MMF) für GMF, reiste für einen Monat in die Vereinigten Staaten und berichtete über die Präsidentschaftswahlen.

Er hat für das Institute of Strategic and Development Studies (ISTAME) – Andreas Papandreou über internationale und europäische Angelegenheiten geforscht. Er arbeitete als informeller Mitarbeiter für die Eurasia Group on Greek Affairs, ein politisches Risikoforschungs- und Beratungsunternehmen und als Sicherheits- und Medienberater für Frau Maria – Eleni Koppa, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments für PaSoK. Derzeit berät er ausländische Botschaften in Athen und ausländische Firmen, die in Griechenland tätig sind.

@AAthanasopoulos