Armin Laschet

Minister President of North Rhine-Westphalia
Germany

Armin Laschet was born on 18 February 1961 in Aachen. He is married and father to three children. Mr. Laschet studied Law and Public Policy with a focus on International Law at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich and the University of Bonn. He sat his first state law exam in 1987. From 1987 to 1994 he was trained as a journalist, and worked as a freelance journalist for Bavarian radio stations and for the television programme Bayerisches Fernsehen. Furthermore, he was a science advisor for the President of the German Parliament, the Bundestag.

From 1994 to 1998 he was a member of the Bundestag, where he chiefly worked on the Foreign Affairs Committee and the Economic Cooperation and Development Committee. He was elected to European Parliament in 1999. There he focused his efforts on foreign policy and security policy, and was a parliamentary reporter for relations between the European Union and the United Nations. From 2005 to 2010 he was Minister of Generations, Family, Women and Integration for the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, making him Germany’s first Minister of Integration. As of 2010 he was also Minister of Federal Affairs, Europe and Media. Armin Laschet has been a member of the state parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Landtag, since 2010, and Chairman of the CDU (Christian Democratic Union) State Association of North Rhine-Westphalia and Federal Deputy Chairman of the CDU of Germany since 2012. From 2013 to 2017 he was Chairman of the CDU faction in the Landtag of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Armin Laschet has been Minister President of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia since 27 June 2017.

Since 1 January 2019 he is also the Federal Republic of Germany’s Cultural Affairs Representative for the German-French cooperation agreement. He is a member of the Board of Directors for awarding the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen, the Presidium of the United Nations Association of Germany, and the European Academy of Sciences and Arts in Salzburg.

@ArminLaschet

Armin Laschet

Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
Deutschland

Armin Laschet wurde am 18. Februar 1961 in Aachen geboren. Er ist verheiratet und Vater von drei Kindern. Laschet studierte Rechts- und Staatswissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Völkerrecht an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. Sein erstes juristisches Staatsexamen legte er 1987 ab. Von 1987 bis 1994 absolvierte er eine Ausbildung zum Journalisten und arbeitete als freier Journalist für bayerische Rundfunksender und das Bayerische Fernsehen. Zudem war er wissenschaftlicher Berater der Präsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages.

Von 1994 bis 1998 war er Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages und arbeitete schwerpunktmäßig im Auswärtigen Ausschuss und im Ausschuss für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. 1999 wurde er ins Europäische Parlament gewählt. Dort widmete er sich der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik und war Berichterstatter des Parlaments für die Beziehungen der Europäischen Union zu den Vereinten Nationen. Von 2005 bis 2010 war er Minister für Generationen, Familie, Frauen und Integration des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und damit der erste Integrationsminister Deutschlands. Ab 2010 war er zugleich Minister für Bundesangelegenheiten, Europa und Medien. Seit 2010 ist Armin Laschet Mitglied des Landestags Nordrhein-Westfalen, seit 2012 Vorsitzender des CDU-Landesverbandes Nordrhein-Westfalen und stellvertretender Bundesvorsitzender der CDU Deutschlands. Von 2013 bis 2017 war er Vorsitzender der CDU-Landtagsfraktion in Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Seit dem 27. Juni 2017 ist Armin Laschet Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Seit dem 1. Januar 2019 ist er außerdem Bevollmächtigter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für kulturelle Angelegenheiten im Rahmen des Vertrags über die deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit. Er ist Mitglied des Direktoriums zur Verleihung des Internationalen Karlspreises zu Aachen, des Präsidiums der Deutschen Gesellschaft für die Vereinten Nationen und der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste in Salzburg.

@ArminLaschet