Ex-Ambassador John Kornblum gives the opening speech at the M100 Sanssouci Colloquium

Potsdam, 01/08/2018. The former Ambassador of the United States of America to the Federal Republic of Germany, John Kornblum, will open the M100 Sanssouci Colloquium with his speech on September 18, 2018.

John Kornblum is one of the most experienced and respected experts in transatlantic politics, economics and culture and was US Ambassador to Germany from 1997 to 2001. Since he left the United States Diplomatic Service, John Kornblum has also held important positions in the international economy. His astute analyses and his experience in economics and diplomacy make the former ambassador an extraordinary speaker and expert of German and American politics.

In his opening speech at the M100 Sanssouci Colloquium John Kornblum will introduce to the topic of this year’s conference “Home Alone? Europe and the Post-American Age”. More than 60 international editors-in-chief, historians and politicians will discuss the new transatlantic relationship, Europe’s agenda for the post-American era and the role of the media.

In an interview with the Tagesspiegel shortly before the NATO summit, the former US ambassador appealed to the Germans to continue their commitment to a good transatlantic relationship: “It is dangerous that Europe and the USA have drifted so far apart in the past 15 years.” The long-term safeguarding of peace and prosperity in Europe is only guaranteed through cooperation between Europe and the USA.

This year’s participants also include Ruth Ben-Ghiat (US historian, journalist, author), Alexandra Borchardt (Director Strategic Development, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism), Klaus Brinkbäumer (Editor-in-Chief, Der Spiegel), Liz Corbin (Head of News, BBC World News), Berthold Kohler (Publisher, FAZ), Georg Mascolo (Head of Research Cooperation NDR, WDR, SZ) and many more.

The debate will be followed by the M100 Media Award ceremony. Previous prize winners include Lord Norman Foster, Dr. Bernard Kouchner, Bob Geldof, Ingrid Betancourt, Hans-Dietrich Genscher, Kurt Westergaard, Dr. Vitali Klitschko, the editors of the French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo and the Italian writer Roberto Saviano. Last year, Russian journalist and media manager Natalya Sindeeva received the award. This year’s winner will be announced soon.